Reviews

Rating:08/09/2015

Dina from St. Mary's, PA

My family and I loved this tour. My son could not stop talking about it. He took a great deal of pictures.

 

Rating:07/30/2015

Janet V. from San Diego

Excellent tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learned a lot. Our guide was really personable and you could tell he enjoyed his job as well as sharing his knowledge. II liked the small size of the tour and our guide kept us on track and on time from beginning to end. Sorry forgot our tour guides name but he is an older gentleman who originally was from the East Coast This was a great company to work with. Hassle free reservations, excellent communications and information provided by the tour operator. Pickup and drop off at our hotel was a breeze. Would definitely do another tour with this company again. Thanks

 

Rating:07/23/2015

Anil from Pittsburg, KS

We had an unforgettable experience on this tour. Got to see some beautiful and amazing sites. Our tour guide, Phoenix, was wonderful. He was knowledgeable about the area and kept us involved. I would strongly recommend this tour to everybody visiting the big island.

 

Rating:07/07/2015

Ronea Reggie from Hickory, NC

There are no words to describe the GREAT time we had on our tour with John. John was AWESOME The information and knowledge he had was amazing The small groups made us feel like family. I cant imagne not going on this tour. We plan on going back to the Big Island just because of the information and our experience we had on the tour. From the time we was picked up at the airport till the time we was dropped off was amazing the black sand beaches to the rainforest to the lava tubes to the night volcano to everything between. If you go to Hawaii and dont do this tour, your trip will not be complete THANKS JOHN

 

Rating:06/05/2015

Deanna from Anchorage, AK

This tour was wonderful. From the first time we got off the bus, to the last stop, we were amazed at the beauty we saw. And watching the lava flow at twilight was both romantic and gorgeous

 

Rating:05/29/2015

Candy from Newark, OH

This tour was wonderful from beginning to end. I can’t stop telling all of my friends about how much fun we had and the things we saw. Thank you, John.

 

Rating:05/14/2015

Betty from Lewiston, PA

I took this tour last month and feel so fortunate to have seen such beautiful places. The volcano was wonderful and I also thoroughly enjoyed Rainbow Falls. I got some great prictures too. Our guide was very informative and friendly. We had a great time.

 

Rating:05/14/2015

Donna from Boston, Ma

Thanks for a great tour of the Big Island. I have always wanted to see an active volcano and I was so lucky to get some great pictures on this tour. We got so close to the lava, it was amazing. And the nature walks were a lot of fun too.

 

Rating:05/12/2015

Timothy J from Bend, OR

I took this tour last month and was skeptical that the tour would be as good as described. We were picked up promptly from the hotel and the guide met us at the airport to begin the tour. Jon was the guide and he as he began weaving tales of Hawaiian mythology and history, I was immediately enthralled. We loved the stories that gave us a greater appriciation to all the places we visited. I will never forget this tour. The lava flow was dim but still visible and the walk out to the flows was enjoyable. I will be bringing my two kids (10 and 13) next time.

 

Rating:05/09/2015

Paul from Belleville, ON

We got so many good pictures on this tour. From the landscapes to the lava, we are so happy we took this tour.

 

Rating:05/06/2015

Serina from Calgary, Alberta

Got to see a beautiful waterfall to start and finished up at the area where you get to see lava. The time when we were there, the smoke from the lava was beautiful and we got great photos. Thank you for our wonderful day.

 

Rating:04/19/2015

Patricia from San Jose, CA

his tour covers a lot of ground, but not once did I feel rushed like most tours. Phoenix is a fantastic guide, very informative, fun, organzied and just down right excited to show you all of the sites!

 

Rating:03/26/2015

Samantha K from Burlington, NC

It had always been my dream to see a live volcano in my lifetime, but I never had the chance to see one until our trip out there to Hawaii last month.

This tour was by far the highlight of our vacation. I would have been happy just seeing the volcano national park, so I was very happy when we were shown around Hilo and other parts of the volcano park that I had no idea existed (like the Lava tube – this was really something special!).

If anyone like me has the dream to see the volcano and you have the chance, go for it! You will not be disappointed :)

 

Rating:03/09/2015

Corey from Salt Lake City, UT

I am so glad we took this tour. I cannot believe the lava that was erupting from the volcano. Not only that, we got to see extinct lava flows that are older than me.

 

Rating:02/24/2015

Stan R. from Deckerville, MI

phenix was a very good guide, went out of his way many times to make a very interesting tour.

 

Rating:02/11/2015

Lauren L from New Jersey

Definitely do this tour My fiance and I drove two hours from Waikoloa to Hilo to hop on the bus and it was worth it Our tour guide Phoenix was very friendly and knowledgeable. He took the time to answer any and all questions and showed a true passion for the island and what it has to offer. We hit all the great highlights that side of the island and Volcano National Park had to offer. We were even lucky enough to see the glow of the lava in the crater that evening. Its a long day but full of great sights and scenic places to take great pictures. Gives you the opportunity to see the best of the island without having to worry about the hassle of driving from point to point.

 

Rating:02/08/2015

Rhonda Moore from Shelbyville Tennessee

We had a fantastic time on the tour. Everything were did was great and our Guide was so informative. We learned alot, laughed alot, and Awwwed a bunch at all the beauty we saw. We plan to return to Hawaii again in a few years, and will be booking tours with you guys again.

 

Rating:02/04/2015

Karen Parker from Spokane, Washington

We had an excellant tour with Phoenix. He was very knowledgeable and it was interesting to listen to him tell all about the Big Island and the volcano. I really prefer the advantages of touring in a small group like what Discover offers. I thought lunch at the Volcano Golf Club was good. We put in a full, wonderful day and we enjoyed every minute of it.

 

Rating:02/01/2015

Angel from Charlotte, North Carolina

Great Experience, Tons of information, Very knowledgeable Tour Guide. We used every minute of the day seeing as much as we could. The Black Sand Beach, Japanese Garden, So… many things about the volcanos. I was overflowed with knowledge, and would have never gotten this type of experience had we not had such a great tour guide. Full day of sights, so pack your energy. Didnt care much for the lunch or dinner locations. Several people in our group actually sent their dinners back to the kitchen at dinner and ask for refunds. No fault of our tour guides or Discover Hawaii Tours. Overall a great experience

 

Rating:01/28/2015

Dennis from Mt. Vernon, WA

This was such a fantastic day from beginning to end. And the best part was we got to see active lava. I am so happy we chose to take this tour. It was a great experience

 

Rating:01/26/2015

Dwight from Staunton

Had an amazing tour Tour guide was John and he was amazing knowledgeable respectful of the Islands If he is your tour guide please tell him John truth